To My Knees Will I Fall?

13 Mar

When I saw him, I fell at his feet as though dead.  But he laid his right hand on me, saying, “Fear not, I am the first and the last, and the living one.  I died, and behold I am alive forevermore, and I have the keys of Death and Hades. (Revelation 1:17-18)

I was thinking earlier about what it will be like when I meet Jesus “face-to-face.”  I wonder what my reaction will be.  It reminds of the song I Can Only Imagine, which is about just that − what we will feel and do when we meet Christ.  Part of the chorus says, “Surrounded by your glory, what will my heart feel?  Will I dance for you Jesus, or in awe of you be still?  Will I stand in your presence, or to my knees will I fall?  Will I sing hallelujah, will I be able to speak at all?”

Also, I thought about the verse in Revelation where John sees the glorified Christ and “fell at his feet as though dead.”  I don’t know what it will be like when I see Christ −  I don’t know how I will feel or what I will think or how I will react − but, I would venture to say that I will probably fall at his feet as John did.  And weep.  And not be able to speak at all.  And give him the biggest, longest hug ever. 

Wow… how awesome that day will be……

Leave a Reply

