"It Does Show How Much God Has Changed You"

1 Mar

Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation. The old has passed away; behold, the new has come. (2 Corinthians 5:17)

A couple of days ago I got a text from a friend that said, “… I was really mad at you at the time, but I think it’s hilarious now! It does show how much God has changed you.” They were referring to something really stupid that I said to them about a year and a half ago. It was nothing really serious, but just a stupid comment I made that I actually don’t even remember making. The reason that it is hilarious to them now is because it is something that they totally couldn’t see me saying today; it would be totally out of character for me to do so. But what really made me smile was the second sentence − “It does show how much God has changed you.”

Looking back over the past four years or so, but particularly the last year, I am amazed at how much God has changed me. And it amazes me that others notice it too. I am amazed that God saved me, the chief of sinners, as Paul said. I know that God has removed my heart of stone and given me a heart of flesh (Ezekiel 36:26). My view of God, others, myself, and my own sin have all completely changed. I truly (or somewhat, anyway) understand the depth of my own depravity. But, most importantly, I have come to realize how great of a Savior Christ is, and that his grace really is sufficient for me.

On another note, there are a couple of things in my life right now that I am really just having to trust God on − really having to rely on the Gospel. And I love that. But it’s not easy sometimes. But, as my pastor said in a sermon a couple of week ago, there must be tension in our lives for growth to occur. And I really believe that. So, for anyone reading this, I would really appreciate your prayers − just that I would trust God with all things and in every area of my life.

I would just like to end this post with one of my favorite verses, and one that has been on my mind a lot lately:

… he chose us in him before the foundation of the world, that we should be holy and blameless before him. (Ephesians 1:4)

Leave a Reply

