College… and Life… and Stuff

29 Jan

Back in September I was debating on what colleges I should apply to for this Fall.  I finally decided to apply to three – Appalachian State, UNC-Greensboro, and Western Carolina.  Basically, the reason I applied to these particular three was because I at least somewhat liked them all, and all of them are less than three hours from home.  I considered applying to some private Christian colleges as well, but ultimately decided against it.

UNCG was really my “first choice,” then App, then Western.  Well, I received my acceptance letter to UNCG first, in October.  In November I received my acceptance letter from Western, and three days ago got my letter from App.  So, I got accepted to all of them, which is cool I guess, but I still don’t know where I want to go in August.  There are a lot of things I like about UNCG, and a lot of things I like about App as well.  As for Western… not so much.  But, I do believe I will get a lot more scholarship money from WCU than from the other two.  

Also, for about two years now I have planned on majoring in biology and going straight to grad school after I graduate, since I could get my master’s in four years (isn’t that crazy… having a master’s degree when you are 22 years old?!)  But, I don’t know if I want to go straight to grad school now or not.  The bad thing about that is, pretty much the only job you can get with a BS in biology is teaching… I know, my high school biology teacher was 23 years old and had just gotten his BS in biology, and was only teaching because it was the only job he could find anywhere until he got into med school.

Who knows, maybe I will teach high school biology for a while after I get out of school.  Ultimately I think I would like to get my master’s and be an instructor at a community college or something.  I guess we will see…

So, I’m looking forward to the rest of this year (for the most part), and the next couple of years, in particular.  Not only because of moving away to college and stuff, but I think it will be a great time for me to continue growing in my knowledge and love for Christ.

Leave a Reply

