Loving Either Darkness or Light

10 Oct

“And that’s the tricky thing about life, really, that the things we want most will kill us.”
 
 
October 19th Donald Miller is coming to Grace Community Church (Grace Centre) in Mills River on his A Million Miles in a Thousand Years book tour. I had never heard of him until about a week or so ago, and I started reading his book Blue Like Jazz Thursday. I am on chapter eight out of twenty, and am loving it so far. I would like to finish the book before I go see him on the 19th, although the tour is for his newest book. 

Today as I was reading through the book, I came to a part that talked about loving either darkness or loving light: 

And that’s the tricky thing about life, really, that the things we want most will kill us. Tony the Beat Poet [his friend] read me this ancient scripture recently that talked about loving either darkness or loving light, and how hard it is to love light and how easy it is to love darkness. I think that is true. Ultimately, we do what we love to do. I like to think that I do things for the right reasons, but I don’t, I do things because I do or don’t love doing them. Because of sin, because I am self-addicted, living in the wreckage of the fall, my body, my heart and my affections are prone to love things that kill me. Tony says Jesus gives us the ability to love the things we should love, the things of Heaven. 

Man. How true is that? Because of our sin, we are so prone to love darkness. Without Jesus giving us the ability to love the things we should, the things that we want most really will kill us. Maybe not necessarily physically, but spiritually.

Leave a Reply

