Experiencing Sanctifying Grace

8 Oct
For sin will have no dominion over you, since you are not under law but under grace. – Romans 6:14

In his book Religion Saves: And Nine Other Misconceptions, Mark Driscoll outlines thirteen ways in which saving grace is experienced in the life of a Christian:

1. Electing grace
2. Preached grace
3. Regenerating grace
4. Converting grace
5. Justifying grace
6. Adopting grace
7. Ministry grace
8. Sanctifying grace
9. Empowering grace
10. Provisional grace
11. Miraculous grace
12. Persevering grace
13. Glorifying grace

It seems that over the past six months or so, I have really been experiencing God’s sanctifying grace. Driscoll defines sanctifying grace as “the ongoing grace that God gives us in abundance and without limit to say no to sin and yes to God so that we can continually grow to be more and more holy like Jesus.” He goes on to say, “sanctifying grace allows us to mature increasingly as Christians and to be transformed more and more to the perfect character of Jesus by God’s power.”

Looking back over the past year, I can see how God has seriously been working in my heart and in my life, but especially within about the past six months. It really is startling how much I have matured as a Christian, thanks to God’s sanctifying grace. I now want to say no to sin and yes to God. I want to grow to be more and more like Jesus. I want to mature as a Christian. And the great news about that is His grace gives me the ability to do so.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: